2011 Lowell Thomas Award Winners Announced

Travel Blog  •  Eva Holland  •  11.10.11 | 12:58 PM ET

This year’s Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Award winners were announced this week. Rick Steves was named Travel Journalist of the Year; he also received awards for his video and audio work, as well as his blog. Budget Travel took the gold award for travel magazines. The Los Angeles Times won gold for best travel section in a newspaper with a circulation of 350,000 or more, and the San Francisco Chronicle was named the best newspaper travel section with a circulation under 350,000.

A number of other World Hum contributors were among the writers honored at the awards: Daisann McLane and Nathan Myers received gold awards for individual stories, while Wayne Curtis and Andrew Evans landed bronze awards. Congratulations to all.

Eva Holland is co-editor of World Hum. She is a former associate editor at Up Here and Up Here Business magazines, and a contributor to Vela. She's based in Canada's Yukon territory.

1 Comment for 2011 Lowell Thomas Award Winners Announced

Davis 12.01.11 | 11:13 AM ET

The first travel book I ever read I found in my father’s bookcase when I was a little boy: it was Lowell Thomas, Jr.‘s Out of This World, his account of his and his father’s 1949 trip to Tibet.

Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.